Online Help > Support/Resources > Knowledge Base

Switch from Shared passphrase to Shared passphrase (v2)

Description

 

BadgeCaution48x48

We should deprecate the Shared passphrase v1 Security Provider so we highly recommend to remove the Shared passphrase v1 and set the Shared passphrase (v2).

 

BadgeInfo48x48

The method to know which version of the Shared passphrase is set as the Security Provider, if there is no version displayed, it is version 1.

 

Here are the steps to modify the Security Provider set on the Devolutions Password Server instance from Shared passphrase to Shared passphrase (v2).

 

1.Ensure that the instance users have the offline mode enabled and that they all perform a full refresh of the cache (CTRL+F5).

2.Have your team switch to the offline mode, allowing them to work while the system is down.

3.Perform a full backup of the database.

4.Open the Devolutions Password Server Console and switch the instance to offline mode with the Go Offline button.

 

Devolutions Password Server Console

Devolutions Password Server Console

 

5.Open the Security Providers dialog from the toolbar.

 

Devolutions Password Server Console toolbar

Devolutions Password Server Console toolbar

 

6.Select the Default item to remove the Security Provider Passphrase v1 and click on Apply.

 

Security Provider dialog

Security Provider dialog

 

Security Provider confirmation dialog

Security Provider confirmation dialog

 

7.Switch the instance in online mode and check some entries with Remote Desktop Manager to ensure that the information is still accessible.

 

Devolutions Password Server Console

Devolutions Password Server Console

 

8.Switch back to offline mode.

9.Perform another backup so if the next steps fail, the previous operation will not be lost.

10.Open the Security Provider dialog and set the Shared passphrase (v2) to encrypt your data.

 

Security Provider dialog

Security Provider dialog

 

11.Switch back to online mode.

12.Check some entries with Remote Desktop Manager to ensure that the information is still accessible.

13.On success, the backups taken during the process can be deleted.